WIWS: Sans Baby

Ironically, on my first Mothers’ day after Der Kinder was born, I went to Mass by myself. (I was pregnant with him last Mothers’ Day so of course he came along.) The Fardreamer was under the weather, so he had to stay home anyway, and he offered to let Der Kinder stay behind because I was running a twitch late anyway and babies just exacerbate that.

So that means I didn’t have to worry about Baby Logistics when I got dressed! :D And here we are for another round of What I Wore Sunday:

Mmm-hmm, those are Christmas lights not only still strung up, but turned on. We are soooo Klassy.

Mmm-hmm, those are Christmas lights not only still strung up, but turned on. We are soooo Klassy.

Veil: I didn’t have to tie it back pirate-babushka style! Still the same soft black with pink and blue roses and vines.

Blouse: It didn’t need to be nursing-friendly or super-long to sustain repeated hiking-up of the baby! I haven’t been able to wear this blouse for almost two years, which is really sad because I love it. I bought it very soon before getting pregnant so it hasn’t seen a lot of use, which is a shame. It’s from Coldwater Creek; another clearance-plus-other-massive-sale-discount purchase.

Skirt: black riding skirt, Chaps brand, found at … sigh… Goodwill. It looks and feels like soft and substantial wool, but it’s actually polyester-rayon so I can machine-wash it. W00t!

Shoes: Same black heeled Mary Janes from Payless Shoes.

Der Kinder is not pictured as he didn’t wear Sunday clothes, of course.

Modesty Police list of misdemeanors:

1. Neckline: TOO LOW!
2. Sleeves: TOO SHORT!
3. Skirt: SHOWS CALVES! (or ankles, take your pick)
4. Shoes: HAVE HEELS!

Just goes to show that no matter what you do, someone will say it’s not enough.

About kittenchan

I'm a Roman Catholic, conservative creative writing major with a penchant for cooking, crafting, and geek subcultures. View all posts by kittenchan

Leave a Reply

