7 Quick Takes: Another Attempt at Writing More Often

Well the first Tuesday LarryD wasn’t at his blog so there was no 3 1/2 Time Outs link to be made… then a Tuesday went by and I didn’t even notice… Then last Tuesday’s attempt turned into a single-topic post and yeah… Maybe next Tuesday I’ll try it again.

In the meantime though, it’s Friday and I’d better take advantage of it! Jen Fulwiler’s 7 Quick Takes Friday is a GO.

1. Our little succulent plant is half dead, and this time we don’t know why. We’re really good at killing plants, except a poinsettia which stuck around for almost a whole year before I got all super smart and looked up how to get one to bloom, and found out that it had to do with temperature changes. I put it outside in the middle of December, and I guess since it was too abrupt of a temperature change from inside the house, because the poor thing just gave up the ghost. I’m not one for superstitious signs, but it does make me wonder how we are going to keep a multi-need child alive when a plant, which needs nothing more than water and sunlight, comes into this place and flops over within weeks or even days.

The stalk on the left is new-ish (it sprouted since we bought it) and even has a tiny bud on it, but it's been that way for weeks. The rest of the plant has shriveled and died. It used to be about 5 inches tall and very bushy.

2. I have started to read a book called The Apostolate of Holy Motherhood. It is a verbatim collection of visionary locutions received from February to August 1987 to a mid-30s housewife and mother of three young children, who remains anonymous as promised by our Lady so that her identity as a mom would be protected. I’m generally not one for visions or private revelations of any sort – a lot of Blessed Anne Catherine Emmerich and Venerable Mary of Agreda’s writings seem a little “off” to me – but hey, this one’s got all the right permissions, authoritative checks, and orthodox people’s recommendations (including Blessed Mother Teresa), plus it’s about motherhood, so on a totally uncharacteristic impulse I bought it. It’s been sitting on the shelf for several months basically because I was afraid to read it and be guilted into some Maybelline-Mary soft-focus everything-suffused-in-early-morning-sunshine mode of motherhood which would be artificial, stilted, overly complicated, and just generally Not Me, and then when I inevitably fail miserably at molding myself into an intense prayer regimen that isn’t natural to my relationship with God, I would feel a combination of resentment and hopelessness that would prevent me from ever getting back into the spiritual saddle again.

Well, like I said, I started reading it. I haven’t gotten very far so I don’t have much to say about it but I do want to say this: It has something that I have been looking for, and which not only modern mothers but young women who have not yet decided between marriage and the religious life need. It has the depth, intensity, and sincere piety of pre-Vatican II writings, but also the sensibilities and understanding of the contemporary situation. There is none of the vague fluffiness of a lot of modern spirituality writings and all of the definite doctrinal orthodoxy of the “days of yore”, where things were laid on the line. There is also a correct understanding of the principles and truths of the Second Vatican Council without the staggeringly idealistic commands of those who truly desire to “turn back the clock” to some 1890s dream and live a life as though modern technology, complications, and situations do not exist. I wish someone else were reading it with me so I could discuss it as we went along. I don’t think it’s the kind of book I want to read alone.

3. As much as I want to reply to this video with a towering inferno of I HAVE NO WORDS FOR THIS… Who am I kidding. I always have words. This is a disgusting display of how so many in our current government don’t give a hoot about whether some policy, mandate, legislation, whatever is actually allowable in our country under our rules (aka the Constitution). Time was, people knew that if something were unconstitutional we just plain couldn’t do it because that’s how our country is run, so they took pains to make sure it was constitutional and if it wasn’t, then it was changed to be constitutional or it was abandoned. Now it’s more of, “We want this to happen so we will make it happen, and it doesn’t matter what sorts of restrictions there are because we don’t want this to be restricted.” It’s made completely clear in the video that Sebelius and her crew had, and have, no intentions of taking religious liberty, the Constitution, or legal precedence seriously and are just messing around with meaningless words (aka lying) and expecting everything they do to be passed without challenge.

The sad thing is, one part of me rejoices that this happened and that people are able to see for themselves the wretched posing, unethical behavior, and deceit being practiced, and hopefully DO something about it, while another part of me thinks that no matter how much light is shed on this dreadful breach of decent behavior, not to mention honest policy and procedure, in the end it will not matter and we will still be stuck with the result because of the ungodly amount of power and brute force wielded by those who want to see it come to fruition.

4. I dinged 28 weeks today! I have reached the stage where I want to eat everything in sight. For the past several hours I have wanted to dive headfirst into a giant bag of Mother’s iced animal cracker cookies. Sigh. Even Pringles would do in a pinch. Why oh why do I have to be prudent and not keep snack food in the house…

Bliss.

5. One of the reasons I’m getting so excited about the impending birth of this baby is so I can find out what I’m going to do about it. It sounds kinda silly because it seems backwards. I’ve been reading other women’s tales of what they do with their children in XYZ situation and how they are going to approach/handle/teach ABC to them for at least a decade now – yeah, I started early. The whole time I’ve been weighing what they have to say, what my mom did, what I think are good guidelines, and what I’ve read in books and things, and analyzing it all. I make mental notes of what appeals to me and fits in with the kind of mom I want to be, and discard or tweak the things which I think are weird, wrong, wouldn’t mesh with us, or just don’t apply. I don’t want to wade into this with absolutely no clue or fundamentals for what I’m going to do.

But on the other hand, there’s something exciting about the prospects of being able to put all this stuff into practice and see how it really works out. What sorts of things am I going to forget or mishandle? What sorts of hidden faults, assumptions, or habits will I fall back on? And, maybe the biggest, what the heck will I do right and how will I be able to do it consistently?

6. Chocolate cake. Mexican food. Pasta salad. Vanilla ice cream with all kinds of fresh fruit on it. Orange sherbet. Pork pie. Grilled salmon. A giant hamburger with avocado slices on it. Bread pudding. Thank goodness we’re going to a restaurant tomorrow for the science fiction and fantasy club’s end of the year party.

7. Maternity bathing suits are preposterously expensive considering that they’re worn for so short a time period. I want to get in the pool, but I can’t bring myself to pay $35+ for the luxury.

About kittenchan

I'm a Roman Catholic, conservative creative writing major with a penchant for cooking, crafting, and geek subcultures. View all posts by kittenchan

Leave a Reply

