Nifty Stuff

This part doesn’t have a theme, unless you count “convenience”, and it is the last of the list. After this post, I’ll have to think of real topics to discuss. :)

Bouncy seat: It seems like it would come in very handy when I have to do things like take a shower, fold laundry, vacuum, or remove a 450-degree pan from the oven – basically anything that calls for an awake baby to be set down. I don’t like the idea of always laying him on the floor, because that’s what you do with suitcases, and I like knowing that he can see what’s going on and doesn’t have to content himself with staring at the plain white, totally boring ceiling. I’ve read a lot of other moms say that they found it very useful so I think it’s a worthwhile purchase.

Cute lions! The toy bar is removable.

Nursing pillow: Sure, I could use regular pillows, but ours are very squishy, bulky, and lend a sort of “I live in my pajamas” vibe when taken out in public.

There are weird looking molded foam ones out there, but these make the most sense to me.

Cosleeper: We have a very small apartment, and our bed takes up most of the space in our room. There just isn’t any extra room for a crib. Also the idea of having to get all the way out of bed, walk somewhere, and lift a baby UP and OUT of a crib every single time he wants to nurse at night or just plain cries sounds like a lot of bother when it could be simplified without actually sharing a bed and worrying about squashing the baby by rolling over, which happens a lot – the rolling over I mean, not the baby-squashing. The cosleeper in this picture looks like a dream come true, since it turns into a crib for later when the baby can pull himself up and needs a comfy wooden cage to keep him from roaming the halls at night, thus rendering buying a secondary crib unnecessary. However, this particular model costs about eleventy jillion dollars. We have a very simple bedframe so anything that looks like this – e.g., that has three walls, is on level with the mattress, and ideally fastens to the bed would probably work very well.

cosleeper

I wonder how hard it would be to just make one.

Bathtub: Yeah, the sink is always there. But ew, we drain hamburger and bacon grease into grease cans in the sink… I wash raw chicken in the sink… we wash dirty dishes in the sink! I won’t even wash my hair in the sink. So yes. I am finicky. Now, there are nice basic tubs with a comfy sling on the market like this one…

tub

Tubs with slings seem more comfortable than leaning against hard plastic sides.

But there is also a revolutionary super cool one called the Puj Tub! It’s made out of BPA-free, PVC-free, antimicrobial, non-porous flexible material that comes flat. You just snap it into shape along two creases and poof, it becomes a tub that fits in the sink, and the baby doesn’t have to touch anything icky! There’s a drain in the bottom for when the bath is over, and you just unfold it and it stores flat and out of the way. It’s even sold in normal stores like Target, which is where I found it.

I watched about 8 videos of people using it, and it just looks cooler and cooler.

Ring sling: I’m a tactile person, so I’m really big on touching, holding, hugging, and generally being physically close to people I care a lot about. Also, babies just plain get carried a lot because it’s convenient. I like the idea of weight distribution and being able to have one or more of my hands free, so I looked up a lot of slings and wraps, and the ring sling is simple to use and doesn’t use much space when it’s rolled up. A lot of parents at my church use these (as well as other wraps, slings, and carriers), so I’ve seen them in action and they look very useful. Also the “tail” or excess fabric of a ring sling makes for a built-in nursing cover.

This pattern looks so fun.

Towels, washcloths, and yes even receiving blankets: We’re having a home birth. (There, I said it.) On the list of supplies, my midwife has specified “10 towels, 5 hand towels, 10 washcloths, and 5-10 receiving blankets.” Obviously there’s a lot of bodily fluids involved in the process of labor and birth, and something needs to be there to sop it up besides chux pads and carpet. These towels and things will encounter, among other substances, blood, so don’t bother getting fancy white plush towels from Kohl’s or anything… just lots of cheap ones.

A random Google Images homebirthing couple happily wrapping their new baby in a freakishly clean white towel.

That’s it! Now all there is to do is sit back and dream of happy, chubby babies. Well, and clean this darn place. It gets inspected at 36 weeks (June 22nd-ish) and I want to get a head start and work on maintaining it. If I got certificates from people to help clean things around here, I’d love that too, and they’d spend time instead of money.

About kittenchan

I'm a Roman Catholic, conservative creative writing major with a penchant for cooking, crafting, and geek subcultures. View all posts by kittenchan

Leave a Reply

