Happier Things I Have Learned From Pregnancy

That previous list was pretty depressing, wasn’t it? Like a lousy class, there’s a difference between what something will teach you and what you can learn from it.

1. It’s ok to ask for, or just get/do, something you need when you need it, even if it costs money or means somebody else has to do something for you. (This especially goes for FOOD.) For a long time – in fact, even now – I have not been comfortable either going to a place where I don’t know people, or going to a place without someone I know, just in case I start feeling lousy. Two Sundays ago something unusual happened during Mass so no, I don’t like the idea of being out for a long period of time when no one I know (and trust) is around. That has made it very difficult to grocery shop, since as of late all my friends have classes and/or work, and my husband has been working overtime – the beginning of the year is extremely busy for his company. However, we tried out Safeway delivery today (ordered last night, at my door this afternoon) and it went without a hitch – unless you count a couple things they didn’t have, but didn’t charge us for – and there was no delivery fee either. Obviously that’s not a long term solution but it worked when we needed it to. Prior to this, there was a lot of sandwich and Greek delivery, and I was feeling very badly about it. But — I HAD to eat, and I couldn’t survive on prenatal vitamins and my husband’s stash of canned stuff.

I have also been slightly more social! Yes, this is a need which needs to be expressed/obtained as well. The hubs and I went to the pre-appointment “getting to know you”, question-answering meeting with the midwife and one of her assistants, for one. Meeting her in real life – as opposed to practically memorizing the business website and reading her entire blog over a couple of days – was fantastic. I was nervous because I don’t feel like I mix well with strange women and, yes, I did crack a lot of terrible jokes and for some reason lacked the ability to follow a linear train of thought. However, she was even more impressive than on paper and it helped a lot in making this whole situation more real, more approachable, and more exciting in a good way rather than exciting in an abstract, terrifying way. I also warmed up very quickly to her assistant because we have very similar styles of relating to people and situations, even though at first, yes, I judged her by her super short hair and lack of makeup (which is extremely hypocritical of me since I almost never wear makeup either) and immediately thought I had her pegged as a head-butting situation waiting to happen. I’m glad it didn’t come through in my words or demeanor though because she seems quite lovely.

Then about a week and a half ago I had five whole friends visit me in one day! I hadn’t seen them in ages and it was fantastic not only to hang out, catch up, and reconnect, but also to have in-person human contact after weeks of no talking until my husband came home. I’ve also visited my parents a few times, which really helps with the cabin fever too.

2. Blueberry lemonade popsicles are delicious. Fruit tends to die a sad death around here, so I decided to get it in popsicle form. I’ve never had either blueberry or lemonade in a popsicle before, but it was just right. It also was a great way to satisfy that “continual ingestion” drive without snacking on terrible microwave popcorn (I’m looking at YOU, Orville Redenbacher!) as well as getting more fluids – let’s face it, after awhile, consciously drinking extra water starts to pall. I’m mildly interested in making popsicles at home because these were on sale and normally they’re pretty expensive, and I don’t want to have just sugar water. I’d make ones with strawberries and orange juice, peaches and white grape peach juice… I’d even try pears and apple juice as a joke because those are two of the “invisible” fruit juices they add to just about every fruit cocktail and fruit snack in order to make it cheap. However I don’t have any popsicle molds and they’re probably pretty expensive. Paper cups make hard to manage popsicles and ice cube trays are just too small.

For my birthday, I would like two boxes of fruit popsicles delivered every month for the remainder of this pregnancy. The pony and million dollars can wait till next year. :)

3. The most boring or unappealing things will suddenly become fascinating. I don’t mean that in the sense of knowing that they’re important so I’m forced to learn about it while remaining somewhat detached, but rather that it somehow becomes interesting in its own right and I will spend hours immersing myself in the subject matter beyond the superficial. For example, I know a lot more about normal and abnormal pregnancy symptoms, hospital birth interventions, other people’s births, birth complications and solutions, early childhood illnesses, diapers, diaper contents, and potty training strategies than I ever thought I would willingly sit down and research without direct, pressing need. I am not looking forward to researching vaccines or carseats at all. Who knows, maybe those will be the most enthralling. <— sarcasm.

4. Other people really do live very different lives, no matter how much you have in common or how parallel your circumstances are, or were, or seem. And by golly, one of them will simply not understand this until you lay it out in blunt black and white. And even then he’ll forget to take it into account. And then he’ll blame YOU for being a horrible friend, occasionally even a horrible person. Number one comes in here… I forced a week and a half of no communication, so now at least I can deal with that person better.

5. The chain of being lazy is only as heavy as I make it seem – I can always lift it if I try. Not that I always like trying… but it’s not something that controls me.

6. The most important people to me are supportive of things I never thought they would be. My dad didn’t bat an eye when I had to answer his questions about things like “so when do you have your first appointment with the doctor” honestly, which means now he knows what we’re planning for this birth. My mom is actually making me a little nervous with not discussing it; usually I can gauge her approval based on whether she offers additional support, or if she asks a few pointed questions and mulls over the answers. I thought I was going to come up against a wall created by caring and limited knowledge of old medical truisms… maybe I’ll just wind up finding it later on, or someplace else. Not that I want to.

7. My husband is the best possible person I could have possibly married. In every situation I find myself/ourselves in, he is the ideal person to have as my husband. There really isn’t anything more I can say about that.

About kittenchan

I'm a Roman Catholic, conservative creative writing major with a penchant for cooking, crafting, and geek subcultures. View all posts by kittenchan

2 responses to “Happier Things I Have Learned From Pregnancy

  • Aunty Em

    Sweet! Especially #7!

  • sleepyseattle

    I’m glad that you are more social. Judging by your writing and last time I saw you, you seem to be feeling better. I hope that the 24 hour morning sickness is dying down a bit.

    I have never had groceries delivered to me. It always seemed like a luxury or they were going to charge me an arm for it. I am glad that it is working out in your situation. If we had stayed in the area, I would have more than happy to go grocery shopping with you.

    I will try to get you a pony for your next birthday. :) Twilight Sparkle, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

