Some Questions About Prayer: Part 3

The Question

3) What does your prayer life / devotional consist of?

My Answer

3. My joke is that usually my prayer life consists of “HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP Oh, thanks.” It’s actually more than that. This will be in no particular order.

I go to Mass every Sunday, holy day of obligation, and some other holidays (such as Triduum and Thanksgiving). I also go to daily Mass at the Newman Center when I can. I pray before Mass, I pray the Mass, I pray during Mass, and I pray after Mass.
I pray the rosary, but not much on my own. I prefer to pray it with at least one other person because it helps me focus better. Ditto for the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. Once I prayed the rosary outside an abortion clinic with the bishop.
I pray before meals, adding “And may the souls of the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace. Amen. St. James Matamoros, pray for us all” at the end of the usual grace.
I pray to St. Jude in particular when I am brushing my teeth and/or using mouthwash because I have his holy card stuck in the bathroom mirror, and I’m staring at it the whole time anyway.
I say the Hail Mary whenever I hear an emergency vehicle or a police car go by.

Prayer for me is an ongoing conversation that I pick up anytime I want to. It ranges from casual and letter-like (“Dear Lord, this class is really boring. You know that I need it to bring up my GPA though. Please give me the strength to come to class tomorrow”) to singing hymns that are prayers while I’m walking through campus, to praying the formal St. Michael prayer whenever I am feeling strongly tempted or spiritually beleaguered. I will pray to various situationally-appropriate saints to pray for me or other people, depending on the circumstances. For example, if I know someone is going into a situation where they will most likely be treated badly because of their faith, I will pray to St. Sebastian to pray for them, since he had to face down martyrdom by being shot full of arrows – for courage under fire. That aspect also helps reinforce the sense that as human beings, we’re all in this together – the saints love us and want us to get to heaven, so they’ll help out when we ask them. They were, when they were alive, right where we are now, so they know how difficult and confusing life can be, and what a struggle it can be to keep doing the right thing.

About kittenchan

I'm a Roman Catholic, conservative creative writing major with a penchant for cooking, crafting, and geek subcultures. View all posts by kittenchan

Leave a Reply

